Miller Motorsports Park Announces 2015 Scholarship Program

Miller Motorsports Park is pleased to announce that it will continue to offer annual college scholarship assistance to qualified residents of Tooele County in 2015. The assistance may be used for undergraduate study at any college or university within the Utah System of Higher Education (University of Utah, Utah State University, Weber State University, Southern Utah University, Snow College, Dixie State College, Utah Valley University and Salt Lake Community College) and private non-profit Utah colleges and universities including Brigham Young University, LDS Business College, Westminster College and Western Governors University. Allowable expenses are limited to resident tuition, fees and books. “There are few things more important to our community and our country than the education of our young people,” said Gail Miller, owner of the Larry H. Miller Group of Companies. “Education is the key to a successful future, and we are pleased to be able to offer these scholarships to Tooele County high school students through Miller Motorsports Park. It is our hope that these recipients will utilize this opportunity to improve their lives and those of their families and communities.” High school graduates, those with a certificate of high school equivalency or non-traditional students working towards an undergraduate degree will be required to complete an application form, which can be obtained from any Tooele County School District high school counselor or downloaded from All applications and information must be postmarked by March 2, 2015 to be considered for the following academic fall semester. All applicants will be notified during approximately the fourth week of April. Notification letters will be sent to the current home address indicated on the application. All applicants must allow their name and likeness to be used in press releases as well as photographic and videographic coverage. Three recipients will be selected this year. Where possible, the funding will be made directly to the respective institution’s scholarship department to cover applicable tuition, fees and up to $300 per semester in books. Scholarships will be approved by a Scholarship Committee for each academic year and shall be renewable by application for up to four academic years or until graduation, whichever occurs first, provided the recipient meets eligibility requirements. More specifically, recipients may receive scholarship funding for a maximum of two academic years while pursuing an associate or vocational degree and four years while pursuing a bachelor’s degree. Applicants must meet the following criteria: They must prove that they are a resident of Tooele County, using a driver’s license, state-issued identity card or a current utility bill; they must provide a high school diploma or certificate of equivalency; they must have been accepted to an accredited institution; and they must submit a personal statement regarding their focus and interest in obtaining a higher-education degree. To remain eligible for scholarship funds, recipients must provide documentation that they are in “good standing” with their institution (minimum GPA of 2.5) and that they remained enrolled as a full-time student (12 or more credit hours per semester). Preference may go to applicants with greatest financial need along with demonstrated high scholastic ability. The Scholarship Committee may modify eligibility requirements at any time without prior notice. A majority vote of the committee members shall determine the recipients. All application materials must be submitted at the same time and in the same envelope. Failure to do so, or missing information, will automatically disqualify the applicant. For more information please contact Jennie Payne by calling 435-277-8050 or sending an email to For more information about Miller Motorsports Park, call 435-277-RACE (7223) or visit the track’s website at

Scroll to Top