The Larry H. Miller Group Adds New Member to its Board of Directors

SANDY, UT (May 1, 2017) – The Larry H. Miller Group of Companies (LHM Group), which employs more than 11,000 individuals across the United States, announced their newest board member with the appointment of Lewis L. (Lee) Bird III. Bird is the chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the At Home Group Inc., whose headquarters are located in Plano, Texas, with 129 stores in 31 states.

“After an extensive national search, we are pleased to welcome Mr. Bird to our board and are confident his leadership and experience directing customer-focused businesses will be a great asset to our businesses as we continue to focus on enriching lives and being the best place in town to work and the best place in town to do business,” said Gail Miller, owner and chairman of the LHM Group.

Before joining the national home décor retailer At Home Group, Bird held a variety of leadership positions, most recently serving as managing director/consumer practice leader of The Gores Group, a global private equity firm. Before this, Bird served as group president of Nike Affiliates for Nike Inc., chief operating officer of Gap, and chief financial officer of Old Navy. Prior to his consumer/retail career, he held various strategic and financial leadership roles at Gateway, Inc., Honeywell/AlliedSignal, Inc., and Ford Motor Company. He started his career as an assistant vice president and commercial loan officer for BayBanks, Inc.

Bird received his MBA from Olin Graduate School of Business at Babson College and his bachelor’s degree from Ithaca College, where he was an All-American in swimming. Bird is currently on the National Advisory Committee for the Marriott School of Business at Brigham Young University and is a member of the Ownership Advisory Group of the NHL Dallas Stars.

Lee Bird will be joining the Board alongside Chairman Gail Miller, co-founder and owner of the LHM Group, CEO Clark Whitworth, and the following Board members: W. Steve Albrecht, Dennis Haslam, Bryan Miller, Greg Miller, Steve Miller, Michael Montelongo, Beryl Raff, Robert Restrepo Jr, and Mary Lee Schneider. Bird replaces Lloyd G. “Buzz” Waterhouse who recently resigned from the Board.

Scroll to Top